• Subscribe to Stay Updated!

    Get our latest posts delivered right to your inbox.

    * indicates required
  • Where Can Americans Travel Right Now?

    With the rollout of the COVID-19 vaccine in full swing, Americans are beginning to have more options when it comes to where they can travel. As of May 13, 2021, more than 70 countries different countries have reopened their borders to American citizens, even though the U.S. Department of State recently listed 80% of countries as “do not travel” on its Travel Advisories list.

    So, where exactly can Americans travel to right now, what restrictions are in place, and what countries are on the “do not travel” list? Read on for some clarity:

    Where Can Americans Currently Travel?

    There are more than 70 different countries Americans can currently travel to as of May 13, 2021. Some of the countries that made the list include:

    • Aruba
    • The Bahamas
    • Barbados
    • Belize
    • Brazil
    • Colombia
    • Costa Rica
    • Croatia
    • Egypt
    • Greece
    • Ireland
    • Jamaica
    • Kenya
    • Mexico
    • Morocco
    • Nigeria
    • Paraguay
    • Puerto Rico
    • Serbia
    • South Africa
    • South Korea
    • Thailand
    • Turkey
    • Uganda
    • Ukraine
    • United Arab Emirates
    • United Kingdom
    • Zambia

    If you’re interested in reading the complete list of countries that Americans can currently travel to, you can visit this website.

    What Restrictions Should I Be Aware of?

    Though there are a vast number of places now open to Americans, there are some restrictions that you should be aware of before booking your plane ticket. A majority of “open” countries require that you show proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of departure.

    Furthermore, there are some countries on the list that still want you to quarantine on arrival. It’s essential to research the country that you plan on traveling to so that you have a greater idea of what rules and restrictions they have in place. 

    What’s the Protocol For Americans Returning to the United States?

    According to the travel.state.gov website, Americans returning to the United States must present a negative COVID-19 test, taken within three calendar days of departure, or proof of recovery from the virus within the last 90 days​. 

    Airlines must confirm the negative test result or proof of recovery for all passengers two years of age and over before boarding and must deny boarding of passengers who do not provide documentation of a negative test or recovery. 

    What Countries Are on the “Do Not Travel” List?

    As of May 13, 2021, there are over 100 countries listed as “do not travel.” Some of the countries on this list include:

    • Brazil
    • Canada
    • Germany
    • Greece
    • India
    • Ireland
    • Italy
    • Mexico
    • The Philippines
    • South Africa

    You can read the complete list of countries on the “do not travel” list by going to the travel.state.gov website.

    Are There Any Precautions I Should Take While Traveling?

    You must take precautions while traveling so that you can keep yourself and others around you safe. Some simple precautions that you should take include washing your hands, wearing a mask over your nose and mouth, sanitizing your frequently touched items, keep your distance, and most importantly, being respectful to others. 

    If you have any questions about obtaining a passport or visa, please don’t hesitate to contact our team – we’d be happy to help! As always, if you plan on traveling in the near future, stay safe, stay healthy, and most of all, enjoy your trip!

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Scroll to Top