• Subscribe to Stay Updated!

    Get our latest posts delivered right to your inbox.

    * indicates required
  • countries-that-dont-have-us-embassies

    The Countries That Don’t Have U.S. Embassies

    When you need help while traveling overseas, the U.S. embassy is where you’re told to go in case of emergency. While the U.S. has embassies in almost every country, there are a few countries that don’t have embassies for a variety of reasons. So what happens when you’re traveling to countries that don’t have U.S. embassies? Read on for a list of countries, and alternative embassies to visit if you need them:

    Countries That Don't Have U.S. Embassies Due to Lack of Diplomatic Relationships

    Currently, three countries don’t have U.S. embassies due to lack of diplomatic relationships with the U.S.


    This remote and tiny kingdom is located in the Himalayan Mountains, between China and India. Although Bhutan became a member of the United Nations in 1971, it does not have diplomatic relations with the U.S. or any other permanent UN Security Council member.

    • Where to get help instead: U.S. Embassy New Delhi in India


    Located east of Iraq and west of Turkmenistan, Afghanistan, and Pakistan, Iran has reportedly refused the idea of re-opening the U.S. embassy in its capital city of Tehran. The Middle Eastern country has cited America’s “illogical” attitudes and behaviors as the reason.

    • Where to get help instead: U.S. Embassy in Ankara, Turkey; U.S. Embassy in Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates; U.S. Embassy in Yerevan, Armenia

    North Korea

    Situated below the southeastern corner of China, North Korea is a notoriously secretive society that tends toward isolation. The country is not on particularly friendly terms with the U.S., although talks between the two nations are ongoing.

    • Where to get help instead: U.S. Embassy in Beijing, China

    Countries with Diplomatic Relationships but No Embassies

    Several other countries do have diplomatic relationships with the U.S., yet don’t have a diplomatic presence. A number of Caribbean island nations fall into this category, as does the West African country of Guinea-Bissau.

    Caribbean Islands

    The picturesque islands of Antigua and Barbuda; Dominica; Grenada; St. Kitts and Nevis; St. Lucia; and St. Vincent and the Grenadines don’t have a physical U.S. diplomatic presence, although there has been a push in Congress to bring embassies to the islands.

    • Where to get help instead: U.S. Embassy in Bridgetown, Barbados


    This small, tropical West African country has seen its share of coups and civil wars, but is now run by a democratically-elected president. While the U.S. has been expanding its programs and presence in the country, it has not yet installed a physical U.S. embassy.

    • Where to get help instead: U.S. Embassy in Dakar, Senegal

    With a valid passport and any necessary visas, you can still travel to any country on the map, even if it happens to be one of the countries that don’t have U.S. embassies.

    The general rule for emergency or crisis situations while traveling abroad is to contact the nearest U.S. embassy, even if that embassy isn’t necessarily in the country where you’re traveling. Even while overseas, you can also always contact the U.S. embassy here in the U.S. at 202-501-4444.

    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Scroll to Top